Other school software
ProEMS vs Fedena: a flat dollar price with open-source roots, or a per-student price in rupees
Fedena is the broader and more international product. It covers hostel, inventory, GPS bus tracking, Tally, online classes and 20+ languages, and prices four plans in US dollars with unlimited users.[1, 2, 3, 4] Many of those are add-ons or higher-tier modules, so the plan matters. It also says its basic version is open source and free.[5]
ProEMS is narrower: no hostel, inventory, bus tracking or online classes. It prices per student in rupees, shows every price on the page and hosts in Mumbai. Choose Fedena for breadth, ProEMS for a rupee price you can add up in a minute.
- Last reviewed
- 16 sources, each dated
- By the ProEMS team
On this page
ProEMS and Fedena at a glance
| Compared | ProEMS | Fedena |
|---|---|---|
| What each one is | ||
| Built for | Schools and colleges in one product. Each school switches on only the modules it needs. | Schools, colleges, universities and coaching centres. Says 40,000+ schools and colleges in 200+ countries.[2, 5] |
| How you buy | Yearly subscription per student. Hosting and apps included, no setup fee. | Yearly plan per institution (Standard, Premium, Ultimate, Enterprise), with unlimited users. Hosting is included.[1] |
| Free open-source edition | No. Paid plans with a one-month trial. | Partly:Says the basic version is open source and free. The public repository's last commit to its main branch is from July 2016.[5, 6] |
| School office work | ||
| Fees and online payment | Yes:Yes, on Gold: concessions, late fines, five payment gateways, receipts. | Yes:Yes. Discounts, late fines, GST slabs and defaulter reminders. Online payment needs the gateway module, which starts at Premium.[1, 7] |
| Payment gateways named | Razorpay, Stripe, Paytm, HDFC (via CCAvenue), PNB. | Partly:Razorpay (added in 5.2, March 2026), PayPal and Authorize.net. No other Indian gateway is named on the pages we read.[3, 8] |
| Admissions | Yes:Yes, on Platinum: enquiry to enrolment, with an emailed enrolment form. | Yes:Yes. Student admission is core; enquiry and registration forms are a Premium module.[1] |
| Exams and report cards | Yes:Yes, on Gold: report cards, and rank lists with percentile. | Yes:Yes. CCE, ICSE, CWA, GPA and CBSE grading, with custom report card fields. Online exams are an Ultimate module.[1, 9] |
| Payroll and payslips | Yes:Yes, on Platinum. CSV export, no payslip PDF. | Yes:Yes. Payroll setup, loss-of-pay deductions and generated payslips.[10] |
| Tally or accounting export | No:No. ProEMS isn't accounting software. | Yes:Yes, as a Premium module: sync by date range or schedule a bulk export.[1, 3] |
| Hostel, stores, transport and classes | ||
| Hostel | No:No hostel module. | Yes:Yes, from the Standard plan: room allocation, rent and hostel fees.[1, 11] |
| Inventory | No:No inventory or stores module. | Yes:Yes, from the Standard plan.[1] |
| GPS or live bus tracking | No:No. Transport is records only (Platinum). | Yes:Yes, through a GPS integration with no price shown. Parents and staff see bus locations. Transport records come with Standard.[4, 12] |
| Online classes | No:No live or online classes. | Yes:Yes, through video conferencing integrations: Google Meet, Zoom and BigBlueButton. The Google Meet and BigBlueButton modules are Ultimate-tier.[1, 2] |
| Biometric attendance | Yes:Yes. RFID and barcode for students and staff; fingerprint (Mantra MFS100) for staff. | Yes:Yes, as an integration with no price shown.[4] |
| AI features | No:We don't list any AI features. | Not stated:Not stated. No AI feature on the pages we read.[1, 2] |
| Communication and apps | ||
| Parents paying fees online | No:No. Students pay on the web; the apps show fees but take no payments. | Yes:Yes. Parents pay fees and download receipts in the mobile app, once the gateway module is on.[7, 13] |
| Mobile apps | Partly:Android and iOS apps for staff, students and parents. No admin work in the apps. The iOS listing is titled ProIMS. | Yes:Yes. Android and iOS, with administrator, teacher, parent and student views. The Android listing calls itself a demo app (10K+ downloads); iPhone shows 3.1 from 21 ratings.[13, 14, 15] |
| WhatsApp messaging | No:No. Messages go through the ProEMS messenger, app notifications and SMS. | Not stated:Not stated. Its pages mention SMS, email and app notifications.[4, 7, 13] |
| Interface languages | No:English only. | Yes:Yes. Says 20+ languages.[2] |
| Pricing and terms | ||
| Published price | Yes:Yes. ₹79, ₹169 and ₹249 per student per year, before 18% GST. | Yes:Yes, in US dollars: $999, $1,399 and $1,699 a year (web), or $1,599, $1,999 and $2,299 with the mobile app. The page may show other currencies by region.[1] |
| What the price counts | Per student, with volume bands. ₹12,000 yearly minimum. | Per institution. Unlimited users, and unlimited students per the integrations page. Whether tax is included is not stated.[1, 4] |
| Trial | Yes:One-month trial. | Yes:14-day free trial, no credit card needed.[5, 7] |
| Data, security and support | ||
| Where data is held | Yes:Amazon Web Services, Mumbai (ap-south-1). Each school has its own database and web address. | Not stated:Free cloud hosting with encrypted security. Amazon Web Services is named as a subprocessor; no region is given.[1, 16] |
| Security certificates | No:We don't claim ISO 27001 or SOC 2. | Not stated:Not stated. No ISO or SOC certificate on the pages we read.[5, 16] |
| Two-factor login | No:No. Sign-in is email and password. | Not stated:Not stated. Google sign-in is a Premium module.[1, 3] |
| Support | Partly:Monday to Saturday, 9:30 am to 6:30 pm IST. We reply within one working day. | Yes:Yes. Email and phone support and one-to-one online training on every plan. Chat and a support portal are also listed.[1, 5] |
Checked on 21 October 2026: Fedena's website, its public code repository on GitHub and its Google Play and App Store listings. “Not stated” means the pages we read don't say, not that Fedena lacks it. ProEMS facts come from our own product and published prices.
Which should you choose?
Choose Fedena if
- You need hostel, inventory, GPS bus tracking, Tally export or online classes in the same system.
- You want a flat yearly price for the whole institution, with unlimited users, and you're comfortable paying in dollars.
- You want parents to pay fees in the app, and interface languages other than English.
- You have a developer team and want an open-source starting point or the product source code on the Enterprise plan.
Choose ProEMS if
- You want a price in rupees that grows with your student count: ₹79, ₹169 or ₹249 per student per year before GST.
- You want fee collection with online payment from the middle plan, with each module's plan listed on the pricing page.
- You want your data in AWS Mumbai, with its own database and web address for your school.
- You need Council List and nominal roll exports for ICSE and ISC schools.
- You don't need hostel, inventory, bus tracking or online classes, and you'd rather start with a smaller product.
What is Fedena?
Fedena is a school and college management system from Foradian Technologies in Bengaluru. Its story page dates the company to 2009, and its home page says 40,000+ schools and colleges in 200+ countries.[2, 8] It sells four plans (Standard, Premium, Ultimate and Enterprise) and describes itself as suitable for CBSE, ICSE, state boards and IB.[1, 2]
Fedena is still shipping. Its release notes list version 5.2 in March 2026, which added Razorpay payment gateway integration.[8]
Where is Fedena stronger?
On breadth, accounting links and international reach. For many institutions that is the deciding point.
- More modules. Hostel, library, transport and inventory sit in the Standard plan.[1] GPS tracking and video classes come through integrations.[2, 4] ProEMS has no hostel, inventory, GPS or online classes.
- Tally. A Premium module syncs transactions to Tally by date range or on a schedule.[3] ProEMS has no Tally export.
- Parents pay in the app. Its apps page says parents can pay fees online and download receipts.[13] In ProEMS, students pay on the web and the apps show fees only. Fedena's app also has an administrator view.
- Languages and reach. It says 20+ languages and 200+ countries.[2] ProEMS is English only.
- Group management. Its FAQ describes multi-school dashboards for owners and board members.[5] ProEMS gives each school its own database and web address.
- Source code. The Enterprise plan includes the product source code.[1]
Where is ProEMS stronger?
On a rupee price per student, three plans, and a few India-specific details.
- Price in rupees, per student. ₹79, ₹169 or ₹249 per student per year before 18% GST, with volume bands that lower the rate as you grow. No dollar conversion.
- Online payment from the middle plan. Fee collection with online payment is on Gold. On Fedena the gateway module starts at Premium, so its cheapest plan has no online payment.[1] ProEMS has tiers too, and passes SMS and gateway charges on at cost.
- Indian gateways. Razorpay, Stripe, Paytm, HDFC (via CCAvenue), PNB. Fedena names Razorpay, PayPal and Authorize.net.[3, 8]
- Board formats. Report cards, rank lists with percentile, and Council List and nominal roll exports for ICSE and ISC schools.
- Where your data sits. AWS Mumbai, an encrypted database, daily backups with 7-day point-in-time recovery. Fedena names Amazon Web Services as a subprocessor but no region.[16]
What ProEMS doesn't do: no hostel, inventory, GPS bus tracking, online classes, WhatsApp, Tally export or payslip PDFs, no two-factor login and English-only screens, and we don't list any AI features. Parents can't pay fees online, and the apps have no admin side. The full list is on the comparison hub.
What does Fedena cost?
Fedena publishes its prices. When we read the page on 21 October 2026 it showed US dollars, billed yearly. It may show other currencies by region, and we haven't converted anything.[1]
| Fedena plan | Web app | Web and mobile app | What is in it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $999 | $1,599 | 20 core and 17 standard modules, including hostel, library, transport and inventory |
| Premium | $1,399 | $1,999 | Adds 10 modules, including the payment gateway, Tally and enquiry forms |
| Ultimate | $1,699 | $2,299 | Adds 12 modules, including online exams, automatic timetable and video class links |
| Enterprise | Contact sales | Contact sales | Everything above, plus the product source code |
ProEMS is per student, so its yearly cost moves with your size. Fedena's price stays the same, so a flat fee favours big institutions. For a small school the answer depends on the exchange rate and on which Fedena tier you need.
| Students | ProEMS Gold | ProEMS Platinum | Fedena Standard (web) | Fedena Premium (web) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 200 | ₹33,800 | ₹49,800 | $999 | $1,399 |
| 500 | ₹84,500 | ₹1,24,500 | $999 | $1,399 |
| 1,000 | ₹1,56,325 | ₹2,30,325 | $999 | $1,399 |
| 2,000 | ₹2,87,300 | ₹4,23,300 | $999 | $1,399 |
A 500-student school on Gold pays ₹84,500, plus ₹15,210 GST, which is ₹99,710. The pricing page has the plans and volume bands, and our cost guide shows what other vendors publish.
Which Fedena plan has the modules you need?
This is the part of Fedena that catches buyers out. The plan cards show the same module counts, but struck-through lines mark what a plan lacks.[1]
| You need | Lowest Fedena plan |
|---|---|
| Hostel, library, transport, inventory | Standard[1] |
| Online fee payment through a gateway | Premium[1, 3] |
| Tally integration, data export, enquiry and registration forms | Premium[1] |
| Online exams, automatic timetable, Google Meet or BigBlueButton | Ultimate[1] |
| GPS bus tracking, biometric devices | Separate integration, no price shown[4] |
Work out your must-haves first, then price the tier that holds them. A school that wants parents to pay online is looking at Premium, not Standard.
Is Fedena open source, and does it matter?
Fedena says so. Its FAQ says the basic version is open source and free of cost.[5] The public repository, projectfedena/fedena on GitHub, has 500+ forks. Its last commit to the main branch is dated 20 July 2016, and we found no link to it from fedena.com.[6]
So we can't tell how closely the free code matches the product you would pay for. That matters if you plan to host or change it yourself. If you only want a hosted service, it matters much less. Ask Fedena which version a plan runs and whether any source is included.
What should you ask Fedena before you buy?
Which tier holds the modules we need?
Get the module list per tier in writing, especially the payment gateway and Tally.What do we pay in rupees, and is GST added?
The page shows dollars and doesn't say how tax is treated.Which Indian payment gateways are supported?
Razorpay is named for 5.2. Ask about any other gateway you use.Where will our data be held?
Amazon Web Services is named as a subprocessor. No region is given.What do GPS and biometric integrations cost?
Both show a contact button and no price.Which app will our parents use?
The Android listing calls itself a demo app. Ask about a branded app for your school.
Same questions for us
Ask ProEMS the same things. Our answers are on the pricing page and the security page, and the one-month trial lets you check the rest yourself.
Sources
Every fact on this page about rules, prices or other products comes from one of these. We read each one on the date shown and will update this page when they change.
- Fedena (vendor website). School ERP for all kinds of Institutes | Pricing and Plans - Fedena (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.Prices were shown in US dollars when we read the page. The plan cards say 20 Core Modules; the module list below them says 22. The Both Web & Mobile App prices appear when you switch that tab.
- Fedena (vendor website). Fedena School Management Software (home page) (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.The 40,000+ schools, 200+ countries and 20+ languages figures are Fedena's own claims.
- Fedena (vendor website). Premium modules (Feature Tour) (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.Describes the Tally and payment gateway modules, which the pricing page puts in the Premium tier.
- Fedena (vendor website). Fedena Institute ERP Integrations (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.The payment gateway and biometric integrations show a Contact Sales button, GPS shows Contact expert, and none shows a price. The page says all plans include unlimited students and courses.
- Fedena (vendor website). Frequently Asked Questions (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- GitHub (public code repository). projectfedena/fedena: Fedena SIS (github.com). Read 21 October 2026.Read through GitHub's API. The most recent commit to the master branch is dated 20 July 2016; the last push to the repository, to a separate branch, was 18 May 2020. We found no link to it on fedena.com.
- Fedena (vendor website). School Fees Management System (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). Our Story (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.Release notes list Fedena 5.2 in March 2026 with Razorpay payment gateway integration.
- Fedena (vendor website). Exam Management System (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). School HR Management System (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). Hostel/Dormitory (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). Transport (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). Fedena Mobile App (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.
- Google Play listing. School Management App - Fedena (Android app) (play.google.com). Read 21 October 2026.Shown on 21 October 2026: 10K+ downloads, 3.6 stars from 78 reviews, updated 10 September 2025. The description calls it a demo app.
- Apple App Store listing. Fedena Mobile App (iPhone and iPad app) (apps.apple.com). Read 21 October 2026.Shown on 21 October 2026: 3.1 from 21 ratings, English, updated in October 2026.
- Fedena (vendor website). GDPR Addendum to the Terms of Service (fedena.com). Read 21 October 2026.Names Amazon Web Services as a subprocessor. It does not name a region.
FAQ
Common questions
Short answers. The sections above have the detail and the sources.
- How much does Fedena cost?
- When we read Fedena's pricing page on 21 October 2026 it showed US dollars, billed yearly: Standard $999, Premium $1,399 and Ultimate $1,699 for the web app, or $1,599, $1,999 and $2,299 with the mobile app. Enterprise is by quote. The page may show other currencies by region.
- Is Fedena free?
- Fedena says its basic version is open source and free of cost. Its public code repository shows no commit to the main branch since July 2016. The hosted plans are paid, and it offers a 14-day free trial.
- Is Fedena better than ProEMS?
- It depends on what you need. Fedena lists more modules (hostel, inventory, GPS tracking, Tally, online classes) and 20+ languages, and parents can pay fees in its app. ProEMS prices per student in rupees, covers schools and colleges in one product and states where it hosts data.
- Does Fedena support online fee payment?
- Yes, through its payment gateway module, which starts at the Premium plan. Fedena names Razorpay, PayPal and Authorize.net. ProEMS supports Razorpay, Stripe, Paytm, HDFC (via CCAvenue) and PNB on the Gold plan, and students pay on the web.
- How much does ProEMS cost?
- ₹79, ₹169 and ₹249 per student per year for Silver, Gold and Platinum, before 18% GST, with a ₹12,000 yearly minimum and a one-month trial.
- Does ProEMS have hostel, inventory or GPS bus tracking?
- No. ProEMS has no hostel or inventory module, and transport is records only: routes, vehicles, drivers and pickup points, with no live tracking.
See ProEMS for yourself, then decide.
Book a free demo. We'll walk you through the modules that matter to you on a demo school, and answer every question you bring.
- Free demo
- Shown on a demo school
- Ask us anything